Sep 272015
 

kindle e-readerSo you want to download Amazon Kindle books but you don’t want to shell out the money for a Kindle.

Good news. You don’t have to.

If you already own a personal computer, a smart phone, an iPad, or a tablet, you already have everything you need to begin reading Amazon Kindle books for free. Purchasing an actual Kindle is optional. All you have to do is download free apps direct from Amazon to turn your computer, smart phone, or tablet into an e-reader.

Why Read Kindle Books?

Thousands of Kindle books are available to read for free, while countless more are offered for considerably less than their print prices. Here is a cost comparison of Kindle book prices and corresponding print prices for noted horror author, Stephen King, as of July of 2015:

Stephen King (7/16/2015) Print Kindle
Revival: A Novel $17.00 $12.99
The Bazaar of Bad Dreams $30.00 $14.99
The Shining $7.99 $1.99
The Long Walk $7.99 $5.70
A Good Marriage $14.99 $4.99

Indie e-books are an even better deal. Check out the difference between print and Kindle e-book prices for independent horror author, J Thorn:

Print Kindle
Shadow Witch $7.99 $0.99
The Law of Three $8.99 $3.99
Corrosion $8.99 $3.99
Demons Within $8.99 $3.99
Eternal $8.99 $3.99

A Kindle stocked with a few hundred novels is considerably easier to store and transport than a few hundred paperbacks or hardcovers, and there are no shipping costs or out of stock delays to deal with when you purchase an e-book.

Get Started Now

To take advantage of the convenience and low cost of Amazon Kindle e-books, without the overhead of purchasing a Kindle, choose your favorite existing device and download Amazon’s free apps. Many of my friends and colleagues prefer to read Kindle books e-books on their tablets and phones and say it’s a great way to enjoy books. You probably have your phone or tablet with you most of the time anyhow, so why not read books with your existing devices?

For fans of Nook and Kobo, free apps also exist to read their e-books.

Still have questions? Feel free to post below, or join our Facebook group. Have a great day, and keep reading!

 

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)